Nick Costley-White Quartet

The Nick Costley-White Quartet combine their love and deep understanding for the jazz tradition with a truly fresh and modern aesthetic. The band’s repertoire draws on unique interpretations of songs from the jazz cannon as well as their own exciting and harmonically rich compositions. Since forming in 2013 the band has performed all over the UK, building a steadily growing and loyal fanbase. The band is comprised of some of the countries finest improvising musicians, led by guitarist and composer Nick Costley-White (Snowpoet, John Warren, Pete Hurt, Martin Speake) alongside Matt Robinson on piano (Corrie Dick, Gareth Lockrane), Conor Chaplin on double bass (Bobo Stenson, George Garzone, Laura Jurd) and Dave Hamblett on drums (Ivo Neame, Abram Wilson, Elchin Shirinov).

The quartet’s debut album Detour Ahead, recorded in April 2017, portrays a narrative which explores the group’s own musical journey. Beginning with performances which draw from the American Songbook tradition it then travels through to more modern sounds inspired by the surroundings of the London jazz scene, taking the listener on a compelling and fulfilling exploration